Crossfit Open 2014: A Review

I finished the Crossfit Games Open 2014 finally. This year was tougher than last. I think its because I put a lot more pressure on myself to do better. I had a goal going into the games this year and that was…do as good as I could to see just how far behind the 40-44 Masters I really am. Let’s just say I have a lot of work to do in the next year if I want to remotely have a shot at qualifying for the “Masters regionals”. Thats ultimately my goal…just qualify for that next stage. If I can make that then the following year I will worry about making it past, but for now I just want to make it into the top 200 of the age group. So let’s break down the workouts and discuss what happened.

Open2014FinalScores

 

WORKOUT 14.1

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
30 double-unders
75-lb. power snatches, 15 reps

SCORE:

219

Notes:

This was a good one to kick off the Games with I thought. Neither movement is something that im super strong at but are things that I had been working at and had improved. It was a good way to see just how I had improved while under a little pressure. I got the first set of DUs unbroken and also the first set of snatches. The second set of DUs were broken in half. This was when I was starting to lose my breathe a little because I had zero idea of what kind of pace I should be at. I went into this one pretty blind and hadn’t looked at times and pacing of previous people. In the third round I fumbled with the DUs and just had to get mad to finish them. Note really a lot more to say about this one. It was a gasser for sure but a good one to get started with.

Still need to work on getting more endurance with the DUs. I lose my breathe too quick and also need to work on keeping the rope close and tight and just relax and go.

 

 

WORKOUT 14.2

Every 3 minutes for as long as possible complete:
From 0:00-3:00
2 rounds of:
10 overhead squats
10 chest-to-bar pull-ups
From 3:00-6:00
2 rounds of:
12 overhead squats
12 chest-to-bar pull-ups
From 6:00-9:00
2 rounds of:
14 overhead squats
14 chest-to-bar pull-ups
Etc., following same pattern until you fail to complete both rounds

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
95-lb. overhead squats
Chest-to-bar pull-ups

SCORE:

76 (second attempt) (First attempt was 67)

NOTES:

This one sucked. I didnt realize that you had to physically touch the bar with your chest. I thought you had to just get your collar bone above the bar. So I wasted about 5 or 6 reps before i realized I was being no repped. My fault for not knowing this though. I did fairly good with the C2Bs once I got going. That was my strong point going into this one. The OHS sucked. Im not good at them form wise and im not strong in doing them either. Not really a lot to say about this one. I need to work on both movements, stop defeating myself before i touch the bar, and need to be more confident with the OHS.

WORKOUT 14.3

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
Complete as many reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
135-lb. deadlifts, 10 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch
185-lb. deadlifts, 15 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch
225-lb. deadlifts, 20 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch
275-lb. deadlifts, 25 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch
315-lb. deadlifts, 30 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch
365-lb. deadlifts, 35 reps
15 box jumps, 24-inch

SCORE:

108

NOTES:

This workout was somewhat in my wheelhouse. Im pretty good with picking heavy stuff up and putting it back down again. Box jumps are another story. It has only been in the past 2 months that I have started a new way of doing box jumps. Previously I would jump up, step down, step back, step forward, then jump. Now I jump up, shuffle back to the edge of the box and drop down. When I hit the floor I go straight down and back up on the box effectively resting on top of the box instead of at the bottom on the floor. This has worked well for me lately and thats what I started out doing here. After the first round I ditched that and went for the step-ups. Stepping up over the corner of the box instead of head on at it has been proven to be more efficient so thats what I did and I plowed through them. When I hit the second round of deadlifts my back was starting to tingle a little from fatigue. By the time I hit the 3rd round it was really starting to get heated. This was partly because my weights were moving around on the bar which was distracting and annoying because I kept having to pull them tight but only on one side. By the time I hit the #275 round that weight felt like I was picking up a house. My max is #415 so I should be able to move this weight but it was just NOT coming off the ground for some reason. My friend Randal Lane was sitting there yelling at me and coaching me and all I could do was look at him in disbelief at how heavy this bar was.
I finally finished and was generally happy with my score. I know I could have gotten a few more reps…maybe even finished that #275 round but ill take 108 and be ok with it. Song of choice for this workout was Stevie Ray Vaughn – Voodoo Child…it was awesome.

WORKOUT 14.4

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
Complete as many rounds and repetitions as possible in 14 minutes of:
60-calorie row
50 toes-to-bars
40 wall-ball shots, 20 lb. to 10-foot target
30 cleans, 135 lb.
20 muscle-ups

SCORE:

174

NOTES:

Another wheelhouse-ish workout for me. This was way more of a gasser than I thought it would be. I went about 85% on the rower and should have just come out hot and killed it. I did fairly well with the T2Bs but lost my kip about half way through. Becky coached me and told me to just start doing them one at a time which worked pretty well for me. The wallballs sucked. Im just slower at them and I had a few no-reps in there too. The dang cleans were heavy. I tried to rest too much. I needed to just suck it up and go. I did do good about not stepping back from the bar though and staying over it. I just needed to push a little harder and get my mind right and I could have made it to the muscle ups. Not my best, could have been cleaner and more efficient on this one but ill take it.

WORKOUT 14.5

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
21-18-15-12-9-6-3 reps for time of:
95-lb. thrusters
Burpees

SCORE:

22:38

 

NOTES:

This one was the worst workout I have ever done. I was nervous about it anyways. 84 is a lot of thrusters. I wasn’t worried about the burpees so much. Bryan Shockley told me one time that with burpees, the key is dont stop. Keep moving. As long as you are moving you are knocking them down one at a time.

My shoulders were tired and my gut and lower back were on fire but the burpees were not the hard part of this. Thrusters were not the hard part either. My mind was my enemy in this fight. I already had in my head that it was going to suck. I already knew that I was looking at a 30+ min workout. I was defeated before I began.

There is this nervous shake I get before a wod sometimes and I had that quivering feeling for an hour before I even got to the gym. As soon as I touched the bar and ticked off my first thruster I was calm. I felt good. I was surprised at how I was making the bar just go up and down. Becky Phillips was coaching and counting me. I dont know what it is about her but she is the perfect person to coach me during a tough workout like this one. Her tone and how she is talking to me and not AT me just makes things right and makes me listen to what she is saying and then actually do it. I could hear her saying “Good job.”, “Keep going.”, “Cmon Seth, you got this.” I plowed on. We had a plan that once I hit round 12 it was going to be time to turn it on and start moving faster. That’s when the wheels fell off.

Sitting here right now I cant really recall what it was that broke me. When I need an extra push during a workout I can summon up some pretty dark stuff to make me move. I had already exhausted all of those. The reasons I was there, the people that caused me to have to strangle bars and not them, the fears that I have about certain things that i deal with everyday…none of those things were there to push me. My lower back was gone. My mind was gone. I was pretty sure I was about to die. I almost started crying at one point and I have no idea why. I felt like my insides were on fire. Then I hit the #6 round. I repped out the last remaining rounds of thrusters unbroken. I could see the light. I was almost done. The goal to just simply finish was in sight. Once I hit that last burpee I just lay on the floor and rolled around in pain for a little bit while I tried to catch my breathe. That was absolutely the most agonizing workout I have ever done.

…And Im ready to do it again and beat my time.

 

Summary

All in all this was a good Open for me. I was really paying attention more to what I needed to work on for 2015. Next year my goal is just make it into the top 200 for my age group, 40-44. That’s a mighty big goal and I realize that. Its a long shot at best. As of right now I cant even do a muscle up. My max clean is only 205 and that was back in January. But I honestly believe I have it in me to train and progress enough to make it to the Masters qualifier workouts next year. I already have a plan and have started implementing it. So here’s to next year and making some progress.

Get Swole!

#CodeRed

 

Leave a Reply

